Our Lady's Grove Primary School

01 2988694admin@olgps.ie

Goatstown Rd., Dublin 14, D14 Y993

Board of Management

The Board of Management manages the school on behalf of the Patron and is accountable to the Patron and the Minister. The Board must uphold the characteristic spirit (ethos) of the school and is accountable to the Patron for so doing.

The Principal is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school, including providing guidance and direction to the teachers and other staff of the school and is accountable to the Board for that management.

The Board of Management consists of, two direct nominees of the Patron (Archbishop of Dublin), the principal, a teachers’ representative, two parents’ representatives (one mother, one father) and these people nominate two representatives. 

Current Board

  • Chairperson Paul Ward  (Patron’s Nominee)

  • Principal Anne Kernan

  • Deputy Principal JoAnna McDowell 

  • Treasurer Eleanor Chambers (Parents’ Nominee)

  • Minutes Secretary Mary Sherry (Community Nominee)

  • David Field (Parents’ Nominee)

  • Mervyn Feely (Community Nominee)

  • Patrick McDermott (Patron’s Nominee)

Boards of Management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term and are required to adhere to the provisions of the Constitution of Boards and Rules of Procedure 2011 issued by the Department of Education and Skills.  It is incumbent on the Board to adopt a child-centred approach to all of its work. It must also have regard to the efficient use of resources (particularly the grants provided by the State), the public interest in the affairs of the school and accountability to pupils, parents and the community.


Click on a link to download

Further Reading

Green Schools Badge Active Badge